Blog Post 8: What is the Topic of Your Paper?

Please tell the class what the thesis of your paper (1 Sentence).  Tell us what sources you used and what is best point you make?

Finally – please comment on the other people ideas for their papers….constructively. Make notes about what interests you…

This is not due until next Friday – march 9 – so you can keep posting and refining all week.

74 responses to “Blog Post 8: What is the Topic of Your Paper?

  1. Thesis: In Jack London’s “To Build a Fire,” the man was not able to survive because through his actions and thoughts he seemed less capable than his dog.

    The main point is that there is a unique relationship between the man and his dog versus nature in its extreme form.

    I will not be able to obtain sources until this weekend but will post them as soon as I do. However, I am open to any comments and/or suggestions you may have on my thesis.

    • Oh I know what you mean… like trying to figure out the thoughts that went through the mind of man When He Was in the snow … right??

      • First, this idea is REALLY interesting – however I think you need to phrase it in a different way – for example:

        Although the main character Jack London’s short story “To Build a Fire,” believes that he will survive because views man as superior to nature, examination of shows us that the dog in the story is more capable than the man because the dog is more in touch with his natural intuition.

        This may not be exactly what you want to say but — you need to focus on making your thesis clear and focused – this is true for all of you – a clear thesis back up with clear points is the goal.

        Secondly – I would recommend not writing your thesis until you have found your sources because your readings will and should influence your opinion about what your writing. You may find that your paper is almost a direct response to a reading about your story.

      • That is correct, Sergio. The man in “To Build a Fire,” started to panic and think about the worse but he quickly managed to repress these thoughts.

  2. I will talk about the story called “The Man Who Was Almost a Man” by Richard Wright and my thesis is the following:

    Symbolism is a commonly used technique that consist in representing things by symbols and it is used in many ways on the story “The Man Who Was Almost a Man” by Richard wright.

    As you can tell, I will focus my research and analysis on the symbolic representations that can be found among the story for example one of the symbols is the gun which represents manhood and Dave thinks it represents to be a mature person. other symbol can be the mule which represents organization and hardworking and like those there are many more symbols.
    I will also try to analyze the real meaning of the story in such way that I can tell what the real intentions of the author were when he wrote the story. I have not choose the sources but like Kristena I am also open to any comments or suggestions about the topic.

    • You are also in need of details – symbolism is a big idea – it includes everything from a peace sign to old age to the the cross. SO you need to be clear what symbols are you looking at and what do they add up to — in other words the symbolism that you see should work together to make some kind of an argument about the story. Soooo…..

      Your thesis might be something like this:

      An examination of the symbolism in Richard Wright’s “The Man Who Was Almost a Man” can lead the reader to an understanding of how imagery and symbols are used to construct our cultural understanding of masculinity.

      Do you see how this is an argument about why the symbols are used – and argument which answers a question like what symbolism is in Richard Wrights’s story and why does he use that symbolism?

      • I think we all deal with symbolism more frequently than we realize. I also like how symbolism can be so many different things for so many different people, it feels like a story or poem can have a million different meanings.

    • Denissova, Tamara. “Richard Wright: the problem of self-identification.” The Mississippi Quarterly 50.2 (1997): 239+. Literature Resource Center. Web. 6 Mar. 2012.

      ardy, Sarah Madsen. “Overview of ‘The Man Who Was Almost a Man’.” Short Stories for Students. Ed. Ira Mark Milne. Vol. 9. Detroit: Gale Group, 2000. Literature Resource Center. Web. 6 Mar. 2012.

      Baym, Nina. “The Man Who Was Almost a Man.” The Norton Anthology of American Literature. New York: W.W. Norton &, 2008. 1113-120. Print.

  3. In a rose for Emily, William Faulkner uses Miss Emily’s character to illustrate how society deals with changes and with the rise of new generations.

    Themes to be discussed:
    # isolation
    -death of her father
    -taxes
    – death of the old south and her generation
    -her slave

    #passage of time
    -gray hair
    -old stationaries
    -decay
    -house

    #How society deals with her attitudes
    -lime and arsenic

    #how is miss Emily a representation of the Old South
    -sleeping with Homer Barron’s corpse
    -slave
    -killing Mr Barron

    ….so what do you guys think??? Im not 100% satisfied with my thesis statement so please feel free to offer constructive comments

      • Isabella –

        You have given us a lot of information to work with!!! I love that. Looking at all these different points, I think I agree with you — I am not sure that your thesis works with every point you are bringing up. In fact I would argue that you are trying to do too much. Also – look at your thesis – In “A Rose for Emily” William Faulkner uses Miss Emily’s character to illustrate how society deals with changes and with the rise of new generations – how do your ideas prove this? Is gray hair proof of changes in a new generation? is isolation proof of changes in a new generation? You need to come up with a question to ask your self – one single question – like what doe Miss Emily say about the old south? and then you need to form a thesis that is an answer to that question. Right now you seem to be answering a few questions and it is best to focus on one. Also — have you read your sources yet because I am not sure how they will fit into these ideas.

        All comments aside – I love all this thinking you are doing! And it seems to me that you need to focus your paper around the character Miss Emily —

    • I think is great and you have enough information to write the paper, also the subjects and details that you have added to support your thesis are great, especially since there is so much representation on this story, also is a story that we can all relate to.

  4. Although double consciousness was mainly used by African Americans males, it can be used be used by anyone to convey or conceal someone emotions or fears.

    • what are your sources and points — this is a strong argument but how are you going to prove it?? MORE INFORMATION PLEASE :)!

  5. The short story I chose to present my thesis on is Kate Chopins “Desiree’s Baby” . I will be talking about the shame and negativity people may experiance due to the constraints and expectations of todays and yesterdays society.

    • Maryellen – what is your exact thesis? In one sentence what would you be arguing — in other words what question are you answering and how are you answering it? Constraints and expectations about what??

      • Oh I get it … sorry!!

        Armand was so devistated when he found out that his child was dark skinned that he was willing to let his lover and child walk out of his life. The expectaion of a well off white man was to not mingle with blacks or lower society. This was how they would be looked upon as important or smart, even if they weren’t. These belives were passed down from generation to generation. Today we still let our pride get the best of us and can be more influenced by others opinions and thoughts rather than our own. I would like to know why we let this happen so often and take a look at the aftermath of when people take this to far.

        I think that is better???

  6. Maryellen – I can now see the thinking behind you ideas – I think the question you should focus on is what does this story teach us about the nature of identity, particularly race identity and how does that relate to pride. Or something like that… You need to remember that the focus of this paper is an analysis of the story you have chosen. It’s almost like you are explaining the story and using it to teach us something about the world – Now your ideas are close to this…but you still need to solidify the thesis – look at the links under the final paper page and read about the thesis. It is one sentence that sums up your argument. Something like this:

    Although Kate Chopin’s short story “Desiree’s Baby,” is set in the past, it offers modern day readers a deep opportunity to consider the current nature of race.

  7. Thesis: on the story “Trifles” by Susan Glaspell women are discriminated and ignore, I will be providing reasons on why it is important to have women opinions.

    Please let me know if the thesis is good, I will be talking about the story trifles,
    It really interested me because it has all the symbols like the nice box where Mrs. Wright had her bird which represents how important the bird was to her, and the bird also represents how she was abuse by Mr. Wright. Mrs. Hale and Mrs. Peter where the one’s finding all the clues of what had happen and why Mrs. Wright had kill her husband, but the men kept ignoring and making fun of the ladies about the sowing, and how the kitchen was a mess.

    What do you guys Think, what can I change is my thesis good, any ideas better than mine?

  8. Andres – Talking about how women’s spaces are seen as unimportant is a very interesting idea – but in I wouldn’t call this discrimination – rather the world in which these people live devalues women’s lives. Your question should focus on how these women prove that women’s spaces are valid…

    Your thesis also has some grammatical issue… I would go with something like this

    In the story “Trifles” by Susan Glaspell them men mistakenly dismiss and ignore women’s ideas, their negligence allows us to recognize the value in all social roles.

  9. I want to use ‘Winter Dream’ for analysis in my research paper.

    Proposed Thesis:
    F Scott Fitzgerald’s crafty work in ‘Winter Dreams’ helped readers during the 1920’s awe in the dangerous power of material happiness, his outcome of the synthesis between a lustful individual and a sensationalist establishment is portrayed through the life of an everyday Shakespearean man.

    sry just got out of work, had to write this quickly so its probably not going to be the best thesis statement ever.

    I have not done any formal research other than read the story and do some light internet research on story analyses.
    http://www.enotes.com/winter-dreams
    http://www.kimburleymurphy.com/Notes/The%20Lost%20generation/WD%20analysis.htm

    TGIF 🙂

    • There are some very good ideas here — but what is your question because you also seem to be answering more than one… Also no internet sources are acceptable – unless they come from the library databases.

    • I like your theme because it is comprehensive and well written. I found a book you can use as a source:

      F. Scott Fitzgerald : new perspectives
      edited by Jackson R. Bryer, Alan Margolies, and Ruth Prigozy.
      Location: Boca Raton Campus General Collection 3rd Floor West
      PS3511.I9 Z6139 2000

      • thank you for your kind words Shideh…

        @lindsey I understand what you found at fault and will try to recreate the thesis to be more problematic.

  10. The thesis of my paper about The Yellow Wallpaper is:

    Although the story “The Yellow Wallpaper” may appear to be a simple story about a women with mental illness, I believe the major theme of the story is the restrictive nature of woman role in 19th century.

    Sources:
    1. Short stories for students : presenting analysis, context and criticism on commonly studied short stories by Kathleen Wilson
    2. Wild unrest : Charlotte Perkins Gilman and the making of “The yellow wall-paper” byHelen Lefkowitz Horowitz.

    I found these at FAU library. I am going Spanish River library today to find more books.

    My Best Point:
    I state my best point as my thesis. In my essay, I make my point to be stronger by add more details and evidence for my thesis.

    • This looks like a great start. Question – do you have a third source? Also, your thesis has a typo: Although the story “The Yellow Wallpaper” may appear to be a simple story about a women with mental illness, I believe the major theme of the story is the restrictive nature of WOMEN’s roles in the 19th century.

      • Ok, thanks; i corrected my thesis.

        Yes, I have a third source. The book is called, “Feminist Issues in Literary Scholarship” by Shari Benstock. In this book, I found a few pages of analysis on “The Yellow Wallpaper.”

    • Shideh, that’s a really strong and good point you make! I completely agree with how it is about mental illness but the underlying main point it is trying to make is that women had little say in many things in the 19th century, It’s a very interesting concept to do research on. Good luck with your paper!

    • Awesome idea, you should research how women were considered “ill” when they were stressed out in the 19th century and how it could have actually affected their mental health by being constantly told something they didn’t believe themselves. Maybe the start of multiple personality disorders?

  11. Computer broke 😦 ….
    I am doing my paper on “Desiree’s Baby” by Kate Chopin
    theme: racial identity
    thesis: Desiree’s Baby teacher us about racial identity and how it can change one’s perspective of an individual.

    To help me write this paper i am asking myself what does this story say about race? and why did she write it?

    Am i on the write direction?

    • Sure – but what sources are you using — have you read articles about this story — you need too! You argument is in the articles you read — remember that you are having a conversation with what others have written about Desiree’s Baby – and explaining how your ideas about the story fit into the overall conversation about the story.

    • What did it do for racial identity? Why might it have proved to people that sometimes the color of your skin doesn’t always matter, because not everyone knows exactly where their heritages start…?

  12. I was thinking about doing “How it Feels to Be Colored Me” by Zora Neale Hurston. I think this story is so unique compared to others we read about racism. She triumphs in this and overcomes racism. This is just a suggested thesis : Even though racism towards African Americans in the early 1900’s was clearly present, Zora Neale Hurston displays through her story how beyond race everyone is human and your color does not make you any different from the next person.

    I’m not sure how to snowball from there with evidence…any help??

  13. I just said this to VanessaSure “have you read articles about this story — you need too! Your argument is in the articles you read — remember that you are having a conversation with what others have written about [“How it Feels to be Colored Me”] – and explaining how your ideas about the story fit into the overall conversation about the story.”

    You need to do this too!

  14. The story I chose was “Desiree’s Baby” by Kate Chopin, this story interested me greatly due to the irony. My thesis is: Society has a great impact on what is accepted, as far as racism is concerned in the story Armand Aubigny is more concerned with societies approval than happiness itself as will be explained. The sources I used were electronic articles that had interpretations of racism in the story and regarding the time period. One point I found interesting was the interpretation of the title itself as being nothing but the womans baby and it is not the mans child.

    • There are a lot of grammatical errors in this post and I am not clear about what your thesis is…in fact I am not about your ideas about this story. WHat are your specific soures – who wrote them and what are the titles — look at alexa’s recent post, which clearly identifies and argument and her sources. Finally, the last point you mention – “One point I found interesting was the interpretation of the title itself as being nothing but the womans baby and it is not the mans child” – how does this fit in your argument? What is the question you asked yourself in order to direct your analysis of “Desiree’s Baby?”

  15. I chose to write about Sarah Winnemuccas “Life Among the Piutes” And this is the thesis I chose to write about. ..I based the thesis from our book but I will find more resources to go with my thesis 🙂

    In Sarah Winnemuccas “Life Among The Piutes” The Native Americans experienced racism by whites and because of this they had little to no rights, America still possesses this little to no rights today against different races.

    Winnemucca relays her message about little rights in her story based on her experience when the governments need for expansion in the west caused the little to no rights when the piutes were there first. She was taught to be the one to try and make peace with the whites as a way to live in peace because it wasn’t going to be the whites to do that first.

    • What are your sources? Also – your thesis seems to general and I think you need to focus your analysis on the story – not questions of racism. What question are you asking yourself about this text?

    • I thought this story was really interesting to read as well. Maybe a political significance of the story on how it influenced Native American viewpoint and also the perspective of their oppressors.

  16. Okay, my final thesis for my paper is : Even though racism against African Americans in the early 20th century was evident, Hurston exemplifies a pride in her race and displays comfort ability throughout her works.

    The sources I am using to support my thesis and prove my point include; An article that comes from an academic journal from the African Americani Review. The main idea of the article is describing how Hurston wanted to adequately display her heritage through a play. Another article I am using is from Laura Dubek. She compares racism with whites and blacks through one of Hurston’s stories. Lastly, I found an article from Taylor Hagwood. It goes in depth with how black signifiers in the early 20th century were imposed upon African Americans through literature.

    The main point I am trying to make is that Zora Neale Hurston stuck out tremendously in her time as an African American writer who showed pride and empowerment through her works based on her race. She was almost anti-racist in many of her stories including “How It Feels to Be Colored Me”.

  17. So I am doing my paper on “To Build a Fire” and how this story in general shows what it is like to be masculine. Also i am showing what it means to be a man and how it has shaped men into what we are today and how we got this image.

      • Well my sources are the story for one, then I have a book on masculinity from medieval times, to see if anything has changed over the years. Then i have two more books called masculinity and power, to show what a man should be. Then last I have a book for constructing masculinity, to show how to be masculine and what it means to be a man. I shall return once more with a thesis statement.

    • The man is definitely one of a kind by exacting no fear during the beginning of his trip. He had that tunnel vision goal in mind which was to “meet the boys at six o’clock.” At one point, the man thought he outdid the “old man” by saving himself and he did say “any man who was a man could travel alone.”

    • I think you have a great idea, I never thought of this story as an example of masculinity until you pointed that out, good stuff.. I think you should write also about how his pride and ego which stem from his masculinity eventually lead to his downfall.

  18. Story: “The Swimmer”
    Author: John Cheever

    Thesis: When reading this story it is easy to get ‘lost in time’, I think by using the consciousness language it proves that time is inevitable and sometimes this idea is overlooked because life passes us by so quick.

    Points:
    #1- Time is inevitable (sometimes lost)
    -changing of the constellations
    -change of seasons
    -his friends aren’t home
    -the empty pools
    -excessive use of alcohol/ distorts his reality

    #2- The use of his memories
    -the parties at his neighbors
    -jumping in and out everyone’s pools at his own free will
    -relating the river to his wife

    #3- Loss
    -the talk that is overheard at the party
    -the realization of the loss of his house when he arrives back home
    -denial that nothing has changed

    *My rough draft right now is just a compilation of a bunch of thoughts, I would love any and all help I can get. My internet has been scarce this week and I’m only going off of what I can depict from the story. Thanks guys 🙂

    • Melissa – YOU NEED SOURCES. since we haven’t read this story yet you absolutely need to get to a library and read what people have to say about this story. The character in this story is clearly a little mad. Read what others have to say and see if that helps you get centered – also as with others – what question are you asking about this story?

  19. Alright sorry im a little late but i did Richard Wrights ” The Man Who Was Almost a Man”. My thesis is explaining the underlying meaning of th symbols throught the story; the gun the mule and darkness. and i used 3 sorces so far, 2 articles and the book itself.

  20. I have used feministcupcake’s suggestion for my thesis because it is exactly what I am trying to convey. Thesis: In Jack London’s short story, “To Build a Fire,” an unprepared man is pitted against the frozen conditions of the Klondike during his journey. Although the main character in Jack London’s short story “To Build a Fire,” believes that he will survive because he views man as superior to nature, examination shows us that the dog in the story is more capable than the man because the dog was more in touch with his natural intuition. Also, their opposing survival skills during their journey shows that their relationship is one of distrust.
    I also am in the process of discussing how the man and dog’s “relationship is one of distrust” because the dog is very reluctant to travel in the cold, the man asks the dog to walk ahead and the dog “falls through the cracks,” and the man envies the dog’s natural coat to name some examples.
    I have found two sources which I have already seen mentioned in previous blogs which are “Short Stories for Students” and “Short Story Criticism” which are excellent sources for my research paper. Not counting the anthology, I have not been able to locate a third source but realize these other two sources provide criticisms from several people.

    • First of all – you know that feministcupcake’s is your professor, right? Okay – you need three sources and – You need to go to the library and find academic sources.

      A MESSAGE TO ALL: YOU NEED TO GO TO THE LIBRARY!!!!!! NOT THE COMPUTER – YOU NEED TO TALK TO A LIBRARIAN!!!!

  21. In the story “Trifles” by Susan Glaspell them men mistakenly dismiss and ignore women’s ideas; their negligence allows us to recognize the value in all social roles. Men tend to pretend that they know everything, they are stubborn and don’t like to admit when they are wrong. In many occasions in our life people experience much discrimination or maybe being ignore by other people especially men to women. As we have seen in the story the trifles. There are many clues that lead to the crime committed. As the story when on it kept showing how men keep going around in circles while the women by just being at the kitchen have all this great ideas, men keep making ignoring the women because they thing that women are only capable of just doing nothing but cook, the women have all this clues of why Mrs. Wright did what she did but men are so stub burn and so fool of them self that they won’t even get close to the kitchen just because the women are there and is a place only for women.
    The story can be interpret in many ways it all the depends on how you feel at the moment and how you are brought up in life. Like I have said in the sentence above women are being ignored and being made fun of “County Attorney: Well ladies, have you decided whether she was going to quilt it or knot it?” the question was made sarcastic making fun of the lady because men thing that women were just capable of just doing home work. Men have downgrade women throughout life thinking because they are sensible and week in all perspective of live; they have this picture of women taking care of the house and raising their children.

    is this a little better to begin with

    • You are making generalizations without an authority to justify your ideas …. for example “Men tend to pretend that they know everything, they are stubborn and don’t like to admit when they are wrong.” Who says this — you need proof, theoretical evidence that this is true. Or you need to present it as your ideas about men and give an example from your life.

  22. “The Man Who Was Almost a Man” By Richard Wright

    Thesis:

    The major themes of “The Man Who Was Almost a Man” by Richard Wright are inferiority, immaturity, ignorance and power.

    Dave, an adolescent that the story is about is desperately seeking a new position in life. He decides that he wants to own a gun, mistakenly thinking that this will bring him power in his life. Power is one of the strongest themes in this story. During the story, we see that Dave is powerless to Mr. Hawkins and his mother and father.

    Another theme of this story is inferiority. The story starts off with him feeling inferior to his peers at the field in which he works because of his age. Dave believes that if he owns a gun he will become an adult and people will start treating him as such.

    We see Dave’s ignorance the first time he shoots the gun. He closes his eyes, looks away, and fires.

    Throughout the story, Dave learns what the consequences of owning and using a gun are. He tries to avoid and run from them, thus showing his immaturity.

  23. Thesis: Ernest Hemingway drew from his life’s experiences in his works. This is evident in “The Snows of Kilimanjaro”. The threads of his life that run through “The Snows of Kilimanjaro” are death, corruption by wealth, redemption, and eternity.
    Main Point: Ernest Hemingways works are a reflection of his real life’s experiences.
    Sources:
    Hemingway, Ernest, “The Snows of Kilimanjaro” The Norton Anthology of American Literature, Nina Baym. 7th ed. New York: Norton, 2007.
    Therapy in Writing: Confessions and Fears in The Lost Characters
    Analysis of The Snows of Kilimanjaro by Ernest Hemingway : Major Themes Explored

    • There are some grammatical issues here — but this works as a thesis. Also – you need 3 sources other than the story. SO that’s an issue.

  24. Thesis: Charlotte Perkins Gilman uses many symbols in “The Yellow Wallpaper” to demonstrate the constraints on women, the struggle for equality, absence of public interaction, and the lack of opportunities of the women during the 1800s.

    The best point I can make is explain how the story demonstrated the the restraints on the women during this time as well as their lack of voice. Furthermore, explain the symbols of the wallpaper.

    Sources: Articles used from the FAU library database,Academic Sources, Critical Essays, and American Literature.

    1. Doctoring “The Yellow Wallpaper” by Jane F. Thrailkill ELH , Vol. 69,
    2. Barbara A. Suess, “The Writing’s On The Wall” Symbolic Orders In ‘The Yellow Wallpaper.” Women’s Studies 32.1 – Academic Search Complete. 3. Lin-lin Wang, “Freed Or Destroyed:A Study On The Yellow Wallpaper From The Perspective Of Foucauldian Panopticism” —US-China Foreign Language -Academic Search Complete.

  25. I have decided to write about “Let America Be American Again”, by Langston Hughes. This poem immediately became my favorite as I feel it touches upon America today, even though it was written long ago. The thesis for my paper is that the American Dream was never fair, equal, or honest. It is an idea, placed by the higher classes to manipulate middle and lower classes into working hard and never giving up. The idea of such a promising America gives faith to those who aren’t successful, especially with help from stories of the lower classes rising to the top. The author does not beat around the bush using symbolism, rather he attacks the situation at hand and uses the point of views of the everyday person.

  26. Thesis
    Although double consciousness was mainly used by African American males, it can be used by anyone to convey or conceal emotions and fears.

    My plan is to show how W.E.D. Du Bois concept of double consciousness helps us understand emotions and fears in “Desiree’s Baby” by Kate Chopin and “The Harlem Dancer” by Claude Mckay.

    Kat, Chopin. “Desiree’s Baby.” The Norton Anothology American Literature . By Wayne Franklin, et al. Seventh ed. Vol. 2. N.p.: Norton & Company , n.d. 439-443. Print.
    McKay, Claude. “The Harlem Dancer .” The Norton Anothology American Literature . By Wayne Franklin, et al. Seventh ed. Vol. 2. N.p.: Norton & Company , n.d. 969. Print.
    Singh, Amritjit. “Claude McKay: Overview.” Reference Guide to American Literature. Ed. Jim Kamp. 3rd ed. Detroit: St. James Press, 1994. Literature Resource Center. Web. 8 Mar. 2012.
    W.E.B Du Bois. “ The Souls of Black Folk.” The Norton Anothology American Literature . By Wayne Franklin, et al. Seventh ed. Vol. 2. N.p.: Norton & Company , n.d. 969. Print.

Leave a comment